top of page

"Six Thinking Hats" 👒Edward de Bono

Edward de Bono's Six Thinking Hats is a method for group discussion and decision-making that encourages parallel thinking and reduces the pitfalls of traditional argumentative thinking. It provides a structured approach to exploring different perspectives and considering multiple aspects of a problem or situation.

The Six Thinking Hats method involves assigning different "hats" to participants, each representing a different thinking style or perspective. Here's a brief description of each hat:

White Hat: This represents objective and neutral thinking.

Red Hat: This hat symbolizes emotions and intuition.

Black Hat: The black hat represents critical and cautious thinking.

Yellow Hat: This hat signifies positive and optimistic thinking.

Green Hat: The green hat is associated with creative and imaginative thinking.

Blue Hat: This hat represents control and organization.

By systematically switching between the different hats, participants can explore a problem or situation from various angles, encouraging comprehensive and well-rounded thinking. The Six Thinking Hats method promotes collaboration, creativity, and balanced decision-making within a group setting.

Related Posts

See All


bottom of page